rame.net  :  how-to guides  :   voting results

RESULT

moderated group rec.arts.movies.erotica passes 330:107

There were 330 YES votes and 107 NO votes, for a total of 437 valid votes. There was 1 abstention and 12 invalid ballots.

For a group to pass, YES votes must be at least 2/3 of all valid (YES and NO) votes. There must also be at least 100 more YES votes than NO votes.

A five day discussion period follows this announcement. If no serious allegations of voting irregularities are raised, the moderator of news.announce.newgroups will create the group shortly thereafter.

Newsgroups line:
rec.arts.movies.erotica Aspects of erotic films and videos. (Moderated)

Voting closed at 23:59:59 UTC, 4 Apr 1996.

This vote was conducted by a neutral third party. Questions about this proposal should be directed to the proponent.

Proponent: Adult Movie FAQ [faq@rame.net]
Proponent: Imperator [imp@primus.paranoia.com]
Votetaker: Dave Cornejo [dave@dogwood.com]

RATIONALE: rec.arts.movies.erotica

The existing unmoderated group alt.sex.movies has proved a popular but unfortunately limited and vulnerable forum for the discussion of erotic films and videos. We propose the creation of a moderated rec.arts.movies.erotica group in which discussion can expand and flourish. Discussion in alt.sex.movies has been almost de facto centered on hardcore films/videos while the existing rec.arts.movies groups tend to ignore the erotic element of mainstream movies. This polarization has left the many afficionados of softcore and mainstream erotic releases feeling equally uneasy in both rec.arts.movies.misc and alt.sex.movies. We intend rec.arts.movies.erotica to provide a safe haven for discussion encompassing the whole spectrum of erotic movies. We also feel that the group has to be moderated so that the exceptional abuses endemic in alt.sex.movies and the alternative hierarchy in general (such as spams, binary posts and unsolicited advertisements) do not plague the new group as well. Add to this polarization the continuing flood of inexperienced USENET users who consistently refrain from reading the extensive a.s.m. FAQ and flood a.s.m. with repetitious questions, and one sees that moderation would better serve newbies and old-timers alike by providing a group that: 1) less repetitiously posts questions and answers about erotic movies; 2) more accurately answers frequently asked questions by referring questioners to the FAQ; 3) incorporates FAQs into the group-FAQ more quickly and more easily; and 4) relegates off-topic posts to the bit bucket.

The complete text of the rationale for this RFD can be read by those interested in (http://www.rame.net/library/docs/rfd.html)

CHARTER: rec.arts.movies.erotica

rec.arts.movies.erotica is a moderated USENET newsgroup dedicated to the intelligent and mature discussion of erotic films and videos -- hardcore, softcore or mainstream, gay or heterosexual. Discussion should be limited to reviews of current and not-so-current releases, gossip, behind the scenes stories, social, economic and legal issues surrounding erotic films, and discussion of actors and actresses (and directors and producers and...). Unacceptable submissions include spams, commercials and binaries.

END CHARTER.

MODERATOR INFO: rec.arts.movies.erotica

Moderator: Adult Movie FAQ [faq@rame.net]
Moderator: Imperator [imp@primus.paranoia.com]
Moderator: Brad Williams [brwi@ix.netcom.com]
Moderator: Peter Van Aarle [aarle@bart.nl]
Moderator: Tim Evanson [tevanson@netcom.com]
Article submission address: rame@linux-shell.net
Administrative contact address: rame-request@linux-shell.net

END MODERATOR INFO.

DISTRIBUTION:

This CFV has been cross-posted to:

    alt.sex.movies, rec.arts.movies.misc

rec.arts.movies.erotica Final Voter list

Voted YES
David.&.Christina.Martin@magna.com.au 
cwalsh@laurel.ocs.mq.edu.au Craig Walsh
gerdw@cougar.vut.edu.au David Gerard
weld_h@maths.su.oz.au 
miro@unisys.com.br Ramiro Brito Willmersdorf
FVSTEJ1C@ucfv.bc.ca 
clemieux@chat.carleton.ca Charles Lemieux
shuntley@chat.carleton.ca Scott Huntley
vern@hamgate.concordia.ca Vernon Erle Ikeda
bsawatzk@direct.ca Brent Sawatzky
rhisc@express.ca Chris Chan
ramende@venus.cambrianc.on.ca 
chanson@gpu.srv.ualberta.ca Curtis Hanson
jmcgarry@uoguelph.ca 
rufinus@dxcern.cern.ch J. Rufinus
Michael.Nieuwenhuizen@cern.ch Michael Nieuwenhuizen
abmark@advn.com Adam B. Mark
wolfgang@atlantis.allcon.com Wolfgang Behrens
ckintz@aloha.com Christopher Kintz
BPGriffin@aol.com 
BryceFinn@aol.com 
CA38@aol.com 
ChrisM7204@aol.com 
Cmovieman@aol.com 
ESyring@aol.com 
Hotprof@aol.com 
LannyG2@aol.com 
UKWATCHES@aol.com 
wombat@aquilagroup.com Christopher M. Conway
rtwear@mars.ark.com Russ Wear
pfollert@nanaimo.ark.com Peter Follert
vk@aloft.att.com vivek.kalra
ecl@mtcts1.mt.att.com Evelyn C Leeper
m.scott.forbes@att.com Scott Forbes
lguzman@aug.com Lydel Guzman
William.J.Kyrouz@BENDER.COM Kyrouz, William J.
cep@best.com Christophe
jaed@best.com Jeanne A. E. DeVoto
chief_1@BIX.com 
100126.3467@compuserve.com Lorin Kalisky
100557.3646@compuserve.com Nick Meinke
102632.3512@compuserve.com Kimberly
drichson@connectnet.com Doug Richardson
wachobc@cpcnet.com Chip Wachob
abend@cris.com Dan Abend
Rockland@cris.com Stryker 
jcoffey@crl.com James L. Coffey
mchance@crl.com Michael A. Chance
tekneek@crl.com Brian Greer
dave@jaguar.mn.csoft.com David Weigel
harris.minter@datadim.com Harris Minter
zimm@microw.ENET.dec.com 
ASHARE@delphi.com DAN SENNE
chughes@cwk000.webo.dg.com Chris Hughes
passion@eden.com shelly
hdudley@encore.com Hugh D. Dudley
jmarkley@erols.com Joseph Markley
tazer@escape.com Tazer- the one and ONLY!!!!
chrispy@eskimo.com Chris Payne
ggs@fcom.com Gordon
BDLESQ@gnn.com Bruce Levin
georgeds@gnn.com George Shaffer
mezzrow@gnn.com Rezzie Flanders
Procoach@gnn.com Robert Hill
SWagleD@gnn.com Sean Wagle
gvr@halcyon.com George V. Reilly
andyl@harlequin.com Andy Latto
giovinaz@skeptic.hks.com Rocky Giovinaz
galang_d@apollo.hp.com 
jack@inferno.fc.hp.com Jack Lampshire
kirshenbaum@hplms26.hpl.hp.com Evan Kirshenbaum
massa@idcap.idcap.com Michael Janich
schultd@indirect.com .
jhayter@infinet.com James Hayter
tupelo@interaccess.com JT
paxil@interlog.com Paxil Psycho
stash@interlog.com stash
pippitt@itis.com Madison Pippitts
shamu@kbbs.kbbsnet.com 
glee@loa.com Gordon D. Lee
joel_j@ls01.las.lockheed.com Joel Johnson
sd@magenta.com Steven S. Davis
0005270312@mcimail.com Chang-Hua Chen
docangst@mcs.com Angst-sensei
mlipsie@ca.merl.com Mike Lipsie
doctorg@mindspring.com Dr. G
neppie@mindspring.com Richard Evans
tsmith49@mixcom.com Tyran L Smith
byars@mdd.comm.mot.com David A. Byars
markm@dma.isg.mot.com Mark Montminy
musman@mother.com Musawwir Spiegel
jay@conch.aa.msen.com Jay Baldwin
JohnPHal@msn.com John Haluska
sgrantz@multitech.com Steve Grantz
leigh@nbi.com Leigh Melton
brwi@ix.netcom.com Brad Williams
irishspy@ix.netcom.com Anthony Ragan
jdlarkin@ix.netcom.com JD Larkin
keithb@ix.netcom.com KEITH BENSON
mbbatty@ix.netcom.com Martin Bailey
mreap@ix.netcom.com Michael Reap
r.deming@ix.netcom.com Rich Deming
rnichol1@ix.netcom.com Ron Nichols
tomba@ix.netcom.com Tom Barreca
vikthek@ix.netcom.com vikthek
xale@ix.netcom.com john g reid
aahz@netcom.com Mean Green Dancing Machine
abostick@netcom.com Alan Bostick
bobmacd@netcom.com Bob MacDowell
catseye@netcom.com Mark Kupferman
chubev@netcom.com Chuck van B
jadmire@netcom.com Joseph A. Admire
modemac@netcom.com Modemac
tevanson@netcom.com Tim Evanson
sean@netmarket.com Sean Hogarty
murray@ca.newbridge.com Jason Murray
mdavison@norden1.com 
ajs@OpenMarket.com Aaron Sherman
petersen@OpenMarket.com David Petersen
mwarren@us.oracle.com Mark Warren
ewl@panix.com Emery Lapinski
phil@panix.com Phil Gustafson
jcabtan@pennywise.com 
rarooney@pond.com Robert A. Rooney
kim@shell.portal.com Kim DeVaughn
pierre@shell.portal.com Pierre Uszynski
frgsn@primenet.com William George Ferguson
jcederq@primenet.com Jerry Cederquist
pkelley@primenet.com Patrick
leeb@mail2.quiknet.com Lee Butterfield
peterson@realtools.com Steve Peterson
flicker@roadrunner.com Stuart & Dawn Flicker
sasdmh@unx.sas.com David Hall
zink@ses.com Ken Zink
manatee@silcom.com Kimberly B
Kemo@sprynet.com Kim Steen
fideist@starnetinc.com 
marc@world.std.com Marc Dashevsky
Mikek@world.std.com Michael Kenny
tbas@sybase.com Tony Basoglu
arielle@taronga.com Stephanie da Silva
swimmer@bbs.tde.com 
xmasone@teamhbbs.com XMASONE
dmontuor@telenet.com Dave Montuori
mmeyer@rts.dseg.ti.com Mark Meyer
mshaw@asic.sc.ti.com Mark Shaw
davidsen@tmr.com bill davidsen
halle@travel-net.com Hal Le
marksv@marks-home.ultranet.com 
epardji@anchortown.unocal.com Dan J. Indest
Martin@webMartin W.
Johan_Sulaiman@wmg.com Johan Sulaiman
alexh@gonzo.wolfenet.com Alex Hirsekorn
mballred@xmission.com Mike Allred
stefan@badtaste.dinoco.de Stefan Thielscher
sean@mpi-sb.mpg.de Sean Matthews
smurf@smurf.noris.de Matthias Urlichs
list-votes@dream.hb.north.de Martin Schr"oder
naddy@mips.pfalz.de Christian Weisgerber
hsauer@marnie.teuto.de Henning Sauer
ullmann@haegar.fgb.mw.tu-muenchen.de Ullmann Stephan
atinfo1@info1.rus.uni-stuttgart.de Stefan Haake
michael.will@student.uni-tuebingen.de Michael Will
johannes@titan.westfalen.de Johannes Stille
dkcowan@amhux4.amherst.edu Derik K Cowan
fekete@bc.edu Zoli Fekete, keeper of hungarian-faq
tpc@CSUA.Berkeley.EDU Thuon Chen
heilmayr@math.berkeley.edu Stephan Heilmayr
paulkarl@uclink4.berkeley.edu
ce107@cfm.brown.edu 
rajwi@acs.bu.edu 
ragsdale@bu.edu David Ragsdale
kent@theory.caltech.edu Kent Bradford
ml3e+@andrew.cmu.edu Michael Loomis
mefunk@med.cornell.edu Mark Funk
leo@cse.CUDenver.EDU Leo Girardi
mtgalvin@ouray.cudenver.edu Michael-Teunis Galvin
eja@acpub.duke.edu Eric Akawie
lbeaudoi@du.edu Luc Beaudoin
by177@cleveland.Freenet.Edu D. L. Mosher
ce549@cleveland.freenet.edu
marshall@rsd1000.gtri.gatech.edu William S Marshall IV
willday@rom.oit.gatech.edu Will Day
saeger@HUSC3.HARVARD.EDU
Chris_Marble@hmc.edu Chris Marble
girishv@iastate.edu Girish Venkitachalam
rohmersa@jmu.edu Jersey Boy
diamantr@ext.missouri.edu Rick Diamant
cstng@MIT.EDU Christine Ng
drewbob@MIT.EDU Andrew C Robertson
jimmyb@MIT.EDU 
20676JRS@MSU.EDU John.Stone
hayden@krypton.mankato.msus.edu Robert A. Hayden
ATHERTON@VAX1.MANKATO.MSUS.EDU Michael Atherton
dshengol@mhc.mtholyoke.edu David L. Shengold
David_Austin@ncsu.edu David F. Austin
jogle@aoc.nrao.edu Jim Ogle (Ks. Jim)
juphoff@tarsier.cv.nrao.edu Jeff Uphoff
jtleylan@merle.acns.nwu.edu Alisdair
fscholl@alpha.CC.OBERLIN.EDU Tim Scholl
jmasters@magnus.acs.ohio-state.edu Jeffrey N. Masters
mansell@phyast.nhn.ou.edu 
qralston+@pitt.edu James Crawford Ralston
jfarber@fisher.stat.psu.edu James E Farber
jjp114@psu.edu John Patterson
lyle@ecn.purdue.edu Lyle Youngblood
jchokey@leland.Stanford.EDU James Alexander Chokey
r3bao@dax.cc.uakron.edu Bruce A. Orcutt
r3sjo@dax.cc.uakron.edu Sean J ORourke
cal@gsbux1.uchicago.edu Cal Lott
dlee@CS.UCLA.EDU David Lee
KBRYANT@npih.medsch.ucla.edu Bryant, Kevin
boldt@math.ucsb.edu Axel Boldt
6500ur@ucsbuxa.ucsb.edu J Borrowdale
hermit@cats.ucsc.edu 
unpingco@mpl.UCSD.EDU Jose Unpingco
todd-barnash@ufl.edu Todd A. Barnash
lfarber@uic.edu Len Farber
j-beda@students.uiuc.edu Johann Beda
mwdaniel@uiuc.edu Michael W. Daniels
pugh@cs.UMD.EDU Bill Pugh
heritage@umd5.umd.edu Richard Heritage
gopguy@wam.umd.edu Dewey
Peter_Hedlesky@umich.edu Peter Hedlesky
RGPRESTON@unca.edu 
jms9102@unm.edu james sevier
kalra@justdoit.dccs.upenn.edu Leslie Dreyer Kalra
dfox@sas.upenn.edu David Fox
jyoung@luna.cas.usf.edu Headless Body in Topless Bar
aloomis@whale.st.usm.edu Austin George Loomis
k-jones@ee.utah.edu Kelly Jones
lowe7@utkux.utcc.utk.edu Seven Lowe
martinma@UTM.Edu Martin Malone
tfm3r@faraday.clas.virginia.edu Tom Michael
pjohnson@leo.vsla.edu K. Paul Johnson
anttij@kontu.bbs.fi Antti-Juhani Kaijanaho
vhakulin@cc.helsinki.fi Ville Hakulinen
Heikki.Kantola@Helsinki.FI Heikki Kantola
Olaf.Laczak@Helsinki.FI Olaf Laczak
jpatokal@snakemail.hut.fi Jani Patokallio
mib@snakemail.hut.fi Mikko Bj|rk
kurgan@cherry.modeemi.cs.tut.fi Jouni Karhu
thirion@verilog.fr Marc Thirion
xanos@pigasos.cti.gr Dimitris Xanos
ysered@ndc.co.il Sered, Yishai
agnar@centbk.is Agnar \HOrn Arason
mau@beatles.cselt.stet.it Maurizio Codogno
soter@iris.bio.utovrm.it Soter Mule'
stropp@mbox.vol.it Maurizio Stroppiana Pinoso
bkane@pldac.plh.af.mil Brian D. Kane
rellison@wrdis01.robins.af.mil Rick CONTRACTOR Ellison Mr.
yt4551@sunams.usma.army.mil Thomas Earley
suarez@dns1.intermex.com.mx Jose Humberto Suarez Villarreal
dougmann@agt.net Doug Mann
lpm119@alliance.net 
stef@bayarea.net Stef Jones
wachob@buffnet.net Craig Wachob
mpoff@earthlink.net Michael Poff
nhard@earthlink.net nhard
davej@evansville.net Dave Jenkins
cwhart@gate.net Chester (Chet) W. Hart
eric@gate.net 
director@gti.net Jeff
sitkaman@hic.net 
KrmrZmpl@IConn.Net G.R. Zempel &/or Virginia Kramer
franklin@iii.net frank schultz
rileyt@infi.net Terry E. Riley
barlo@unix.infoserve.net Barry Field
freber@unix.infoserve.net Frederick Bernard
byeadon@inland.net Bill Yeadon
spuds@interport.net Spuds Smythe
wtm@ionet.net W.T. McCoy
aljawad@kuwait.net Ala'a H. Jawad
phredd@mcs.net PHREdd
jamesl@usa.nai.net James Logue
peteyone@maui.netwave.net Steve De Rose
birchall@email.njin.net Shag
dlee@nyx.net David Lee
jbrown@oz.net Jack Brown
claudius@phoenix.net claudius
penman@rahul.net Milton Brewster
walt@scott.net 
migueljc@shadow.net Miguel Corteguera
BigJim@shore.net The Big Guy
tomme@duracef.shout.net 
jbbarr@pop.slip.net Ben Barr
bkuhn@agnostic.smart.net Bradley M. Kuhn
dpwstory@tiac.net David White
aarle@bart.nl Peter van Aarle
Frans@frp.idn.nl Frans Postma
heiko.ebeling@iwg.nl Heiko Ebeling
ejnoomen@xs4all.nl Eric-Jan Noomen
John.Herland@fi.uib.no John H. Herland
r.meiklejohn@auckland.ac.nz Russell Meiklejohn
nmehl@blank.org Nathan J. Mehl
dactyl@c2.org dactyl
jdfalk@cybernothing.org 
hartw@efn.org hart williams
phredo@fortnet.org Blaine E. Thompson
cascio@gbn.org Jamais Cascio
evan@telly.org 
pmelo@mat.uc.pt Paulo Melo
d9bertil@dtek.chalmers.se Bertil Jonell
andy@sarah.ct.se Andy Pettersson
Gunnar_Ahlman@online.idg.se Gunnar Ahlman
maber@tripnet.se Marco Behrmann
ep104@cus.cam.ac.uk Elias 'CaveMan' Papavassilopoulos
pk205@cus.cam.ac.uk P. Kosmetatos
qfp10@cus.cam.ac.uk Panayis Fourniotis Pavlatos
smk@dcs.ed.ac.uk Stefan Kahrs
katerina@ling.ed.ac.uk
C.R.Gadsden@politics.hull.ac.uk Richard Gadsden
johnJohn
pjh1@leicester.ac.uk Pete Humble
dimitrios.krallis@st-cross.oxford.ac.uk Dimitrios Krallis
Hayden.Hussey@bbc.co.uk Hayden Hussey
mar@gratis.demon.co.uk
alaric@harlech.demon.co.uk "Iain D. Bowen"
jonathan@jona.demon.co.uk jon m
tm@kallisti.demon.co.uk Theoharis Mihailidis
spirit@wildwood.demon.co.uk Mike Horrell
wayne.lines@sentinel.co.uk Wayne Lines
a008519t@bcfreenet.seflin.lib.fl.us Gerald Fine
johnsoca@freenet.msp.mn.us Coni Ann Johnson
johnsora@freenet.msp.mn.us Rachel Anne Johnson
petroski@freenet.msp.mn.us Brian K Petroski
denebeim@deepthot.cary.nc.us Jay Denebeim
JMATHIAS@cougar.colstate.cc.oh.us Joel Mathias
Voted NO
rick@gloop.hna.com.au Rick Eyre
portsoft@ozemail.com.au Richard Porter
EWilts@galaxy.gov.bc.ca
kick@vcn.bc.ca Greg Webster
art.mulder@UAlberta.CA Art Mulder
bollow@math.ethz.ch
dbacklund@mus.ch Dan Backlund
ABKori@aol.com
BErvien@aol.com
GPatter240@aol.com
JHThames@aol.com
NormGoos@aol.com
Pagobeat@aol.com
SGlahn@aol.com
Shadowrook@aol.com
ShanWag@aol.com
toddk@artgraphics.com Todd Krulak
stainles@bga.com Dwight Brown
jsdy@cais.cais.com Joseph S. D. Yao
jeh@canby.com John E. Hieb
102456.2523@compuserve.com Sue Powell
71572.2755@compuserve.com Sue Bohlin
73514.3143@compuserve.com Gregory A. Laushine
73720.3352@compuserve.com Bill Mouser
polandjc@csipros.com
booda@datasync.com Martin H. Booda
igby@deltanet.com Michael J. Mahony
lineman@deltanet.com Lineman
think@eskimo.com
RSForum1@eworld.com
Grace@gnn.com GCC
wingman@idirect.com
glmorrow@lamg.com Gerald Morrow
maburns@shell.liberty.com Michael A. Burns
WEAR__RN_at_DPDMIS__01L@pcsmtp.lcec.lockheed.com
dennis_peters@msn.com Dennis Peters
tgriff@ix.netcom.com Tom Griffin
therev1@ix.netcom.com david allan williams
qut@netcom.com Dave Harman
tgm@netcom.com Thomas G. McWilliams
underhill@netpass.com Ken Livingston
aristotl@netside.com Randy Greene
dwaka@oosting.com
gedaliah@panix.com Gedaliah Friedenberg
bearqst@polarnet.com John Johnston
donkiely@polarnet.com Don Kiely
lamont@primenet.com lamont
xseg61a@prodigy.com Joel Anderson
mlc@iberia.cca.rockwell.com Michael Cook
phillipj@smartdocs.com Phil Johnson
letal@s2.sonnet.com Lee Alexander
upchurch@hp7001.ecae.StorTek.COM Alan Upchurch (upchurch)
bobmcc@tcs.com Bob McCormick
dwebb@ti.com David W. Webb
sam@sam.franken.de Sassan Simai
schotten@ert.rwth-aachen.de Claus Schotten A
tlawson@garamond.univpubs.american.edu Todd C. Lawson
Mark_C_Brown@BAYLOR.EDU
reyes@buphyk.bu.edu Jinara Reyes
cls48@columbia.edu Christopher Lodge Stamper
jkatz@math.gatech.edu Jochen Katz
ryang@gwis2.circ.gwu.edu Glen Patrick Ryan
LSEAMANS@MU3.MILLERSV.EDU Lynne Seamans
patl@lcs.mit.edu Patrick J. LoPresti
jjlilley@MIT.EDU Jeremy Lilley
zdlh19@sc.msc.edu
Koehl.1@nd.edu Andrew Koehl
dornelso@badlands.NoDak.edu Dorothea Nelson
johendri@plains.nodak.edu John Hendrickson
DALNELSO@VM1.NODAK.EDU
long@sunset.backbone.olemiss.edu Lay - Hong Ong
rra@cs.stanford.edu Russ Allbery
robertsj@tenet.edu Joseph W. Roberts
rick@bcm.tmc.edu Richard H. Miller
tp034588@bcm.tmc.edu Todd P. Primm
dpperkin@midway.uchicago.edu

 

Newsgroup problems: e-mail rame-request@rame.net.
Website problems: e-mail webmaster@rame.net

Questions about adult movies should be posted or mailed to the newsgroup rec.arts.movies.erotica. The staff at the above addresses cannot answer your questions; the folks in the newsgroup probably can.